I read the news today, oh boy…

Twitter is fantastic for giving ‘short, timely messages’ and the feedback I’ve received since starting my feed last October has been overwhelmingly positive. Members of the public who have chosen to follow me and taken the time to give me their feedback seem genuinely interested in the type of work that I do in my role as a response officer with West Midlands Police and I continue to enjoy interacting with the public accordingly.

As appropriate as Twitter’s one hundred and forty character limit is for giving the aforementioned ‘short, timely messages’ however, there have been times when I’ve attended incidents or been asked queries which really can’t be done justice on Twitter alone. Herein lies my incentive for starting the blog you are now reading.

My aim for the Twitter feed has been to give the public an idea of the day to day duties that myself and fellow officers are involved in. With this blog I would like to extend that aim by periodically providing a more detailed ‘day in the life’ account of policing than I am able to across Twitter alone. Whilst this is my principle aim, I will also seek to blog about other matters as and when I can and am hoping that I’ll be able to manage at least one or two posts each month.

Feedback can be posted below each blog entry and will be much appreciated. In addition, the title given to each blog will be lyrics from a song or a song title. The first person to correctly guess both the song title and artist (or the artist in the case of a song title) will receive an approving nod from myself. I don’t think today’s title will pose too much of a challenge but rest assured, they’ll get harder…

Cheers,

PC Stanley

10 Responses to “I read the news today, oh boy…”


  1. 1 Rich 14/03/2011 at 09:07

    Found your blog. Good guess I thought. Lyrics and song; A day in the life, The Beatles. From Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. I thank you. Blog looks great. Good stuff, keep it up.

  2. 2 Bren 14/03/2011 at 19:55

    very, very good start, well done, keep it up, sounds like it’s going to be interesting. Nice to know you are taking the time and effort to do it. Can’t think of the song tho, if response above is correct – still can’t think of it.

  3. 3 Chris 14/03/2011 at 20:05

    Hi Richard

    Just got here from your twitter link. Looking forward to reading the blog in the future.

    Deffo ‘A day in the Life’ An easy one for us ‘oldies’ lol

  4. 4 Sheena 14/03/2011 at 20:51

    A great start can’t wait to read more…

  5. 5 Liz (rougeforever) 14/03/2011 at 22:01

    Hi! Just to say I really enjoy your tweets. Your insights into day-to-day policing are great – and I really like the human face of policing you present. Very well done for getting your head round social media so well – am sure this will bring you a whole new set of audience….!

  6. 6 Linda 14/03/2011 at 22:04

    Great idea and I hope that the blog works out for you…but surely you will have to be very careful about what you say on all fronts? Good luck

  7. 7 Kate Goodall 14/03/2011 at 22:08

    Hmmm. If I see you out and about on your duties, I won’t be asking you for directions – looks like you have to look above the post to add comments, not below. Nice one on the blog anyway :-)

    Bren – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nftY197p8Uw hopefully it’ll jog your memory.

  8. 8 Andy Morton 14/03/2011 at 22:26

    PC Stanley

    Your Blog is a good idea. It’s a nice way to share what you get up to with those out there that have a genuine interest. Unlike the 140 character limit with Twitter you can really go to town with what you want to say. Just be careful not to say too much (you know what I mean?)
    Good luck with it and I for one will keep an eye out for your updates!

    echocharlie1871

  9. 9 Bren 14/03/2011 at 22:31

    Oh yes Thank you Kate

  10. 10 Cllr Mike Flower 14/03/2011 at 22:44

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

PC Stanley’s Twitter Feed

  • Pretty productive shift today, my travels have taken me to #Brownhills, #Leamore and #Wolverhampton. Back on tomorrow for another late. 5 hours ago
  • Late shift today, been using the services of one of our translators as my Lithuanian and Russian skills are a little 'lacking'. 8 hours ago
  • RT @WMPolice: Aged 16 - 24 and looking for some valuable work experience? There are 15 places on a 12 wk traineeship up for grabs: http://t… 1 day ago
  • Prisoner bailed for a few more enquires, back to #Wednesfield now to write everything up and finish for the day. 1 day ago
  • Sat at Bilston Street police station at the moment waiting to go into interview with a suspect, second interview of the day this'll be. 1 day ago

PC Stanley on Facebook

RSS West Midlands Police Latest News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog QR Code


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,210 other followers

